Wisconsin joins more than 30 other states enforcing a ban on texting while driving Dec. 1, 2010. With the rising number of accidents caused by distracted driving, Wisconsin Governor Jim Doyle signed the legislation into law in an effort to make Wisconsin roadways safer.
Other states including Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, and Minnesota already enforce a texting ban. To see what driving laws apply in your state, check out the Governors Highway Safety AssociationThough there is controversy surrounding the effectiveness of texting bans, it is important to understand the facts of the ban to avoid an unexpected stop by the police, complete with a hit to your pocketbook.
Quick facts about the ban on texting while driving:
• It's punishable as a primary offense, meaning an officer can pull a driver over solely for suspicion of texting.
• Drivers pulled over for texting while driving can expect fines ranging from $20 to $400 for the first offense.
• Second and additional offenses carry fines of $200 to $800 each.
• The legislation applies to text messages sent from PDAs, computers, and any other electronic device.
• E-mailing from phones or computers violates this law.
• The law applies to all drivers.